The Anguilla Constitution Order, which came into effect on April 1st 1982, accords Anguilla the status of a British Dependent Territory. The British Monarch is represented by a Governor who presides over the Executive Council and is responsible for defense, external affairs, internal security, the public service and offshore finance.

Government Officials

His Excellency The Governor:  Mr Allan N. Hoole O.B.E.
Deputy Governor:  Mr. Henry McCrory L.V.O., O.B.E.
Cheif Minister, Minister of Tourism, Home Affairs, and Agriculture:
       Hon. Hubert B. Hughes
Minister of Finance and Economic Development: Hon. Victor F. Banks
Minister of Communications, Works and Public Utilities: Hon. Albert E. Hughes
Minister of Social Services, Education and Lands: Hon. Edison A. Baird
Attorney General: Hon. D. Kurt DeFreitas